Message Us

PHD Materials Science, Colombian

A 27 year old man who was raised in Colombia and now lives in America, I will be graduating in May of 2012 with my MS Degree in Physics and want very much to continue to study towards the PHD in an area that will be complimentary to my academic background. I see your program at UCXX as the finest in the world, and I am especially attracted to the beauty and resources of the surrounding area.

I am especially interested in doing research in the areas of Computational Materials in order to prepare myself in an optimal fashion for state-of-the-art research and development in the area of solid state lighting. 10 years from now I would like to be a professor in materials science and engineering at the same time that I stay very active in research. I believe that I would very much enjoy teaching at the university level. This conviction has been reinforced by my work as a tutor in the tutorial center of my university for first and second year students in the areas of mathematics, physics, and engineering. I am a persistent person and a hard worker.

My fascination and profound respect for multiculturalism has become highly developed not just by the fact that I am from Colombia, but also that I have traveled to many countries, not only in South America, but also Europe and the Middle East. My travels to and studies of other cultures has helped me to develop more nuanced perspectives concerning people and their relationship to their society. I work very well with people from many different cultures, religions and socio-economic backgrounds.

I came to the United States about 5 years ago as an international student. During my first year of studies, my parents covered the high tuition fees that every international student has to pay for their education. Since international students are not allowed to work, my parents also paid for housing, books, and all other expenses related to my studies in the United States. They made many sacrifices for my future, in fact, nearly exhausting their savings. In my second and third years, I was allowed to work on campus for 20 hours a week, and this income helped to at least pay for my housing, books, and miscellaneous expenses. I learned valuable skills throughout this period in terms of personal organization and management and have become both a better person and a better student for having met the challenge of working while studying full time.

After completing the PHD, I hope to gain additional experience in my field and I want to always stay involved with science in such a way that I remain engaged with South America, especially with the many challenges that it faces in terms of economic development. I hope to spend many decades on the cutting edge of developments in materials handling that meet the challenge of new generations of technological endeavors and hurdles that will need to be overcome in South America.

I am extremely impressed by the research going on in materials at UCXX and I want to thank you for considering my application to your renowned program.

Go Back